Marijuana Possession Now an Infraction in California

Sunday, January 2, 2011
Rock 2Image by Just Say Now via Flickr
As of January 1st California as changed possession of less than an ounce of marijuana from a misdemeanor to an infraction.
SB 1449, Leno. Marijuana: possession.

Existing law provides that, except as authorized by law, every person who possesses not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100. This same penalty is imposed for the crime of possessing not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana while driving on a highway or on lands, as specified.

Existing law provides with respect to these offenses that, under specified conditions, (1) the court shall divert and refer the defendant for education, treatment, or rehabilitation, as specified, and (2) an arrested person who gives satisfactory evidence of identity and a written promise to appear in court shall not be subjected to booking.

Amends existing law to provide that any person who commits any of the above offenses is instead guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $100. This bill would eliminate the above-described provisions relating to booking and to diversion and referral for education, treatment, or rehabilitation.
 Finally, a little common sense on marijuana possession. If only we can get marijuana completely decriminalized and treated like alcohol.

Another Fine Post from: No 2 Religion - Just Say No!
Enhanced by Zemanta